Yoga: It’s Doesn’t Have to Be Hard!

Guest Post by Elizabeth George

Yoga pose redMy pregnancy was, at first, cause and excuse to eat a little more than normal. I, however, went way overboard, and after the initial healthy gain of the thirty pounds recommended by my OBGYN, just kept going. And going and going. Every visit after the 5th month, my OB would firmly tell me to stop eating so much. And I wouldn’t listen. I craved cheesecake and broccoli and olives and pie. And when my daughter was born a MONTH EARLY, I had packed on sixty-five pounds. She only weighed five and a half.

 

Thus began my battle to lose the baby weight. I dieted. I went to the gym. I went to spin classes three times a week. I ate salads and drank green tea. Nothing worked. A year and a half later I was still twenty pounds overweight. Then, someone suggested I try a yoga class. I had practiced before but had given it up somewhere along the way.

 

I went back to the studio and took a refresher workshop and was immediately reminded as to what I had been missing. Yoga provides balance of mind, body and spirit. Or you can pick from any combination that works for you. I started out solely looking to recharge my body and I found that the various poses, which are comprised of standing and balancing poses, twists and forward and backbends all lent themselves to provide me with a rigorous workout that left me invigorated and relaxed at the same time. After just a few weeks I felt recharged and better than I had in ages. My body started to look different too. Better.

 

YogaAnyone who tells you that yoga is not aerobic hasn’t shopped around enough. There are a multitude of different types of yoga to choose from. Sure, there are those that are dedicated toward alignment or are more focused on the meditative and inwardly focused qualities, which are also highly beneficial (and not at all aerobic.) But I found some strong ‘power’ flow classes that, after I was up to speed, took those 20 pounds off within six months. I may be an anomaly, but I don’t think so. I have practiced yoga almost daily now for twelve years, and have seen a huge change in my body. I’m still now even lighter than I was before I got pregnant, and even better– stronger, more focused and flexible, sleep better than I ever did, and am less hungry with, most importantly, less unhealthy cravings.

 

People think they can’t do yoga because they aren’t flexible enough or don’t have the time. You don’t have to be able to touch your toes or do a backbend to do yoga. It isn’t a competitive sport. Just do what you can do. And, if you have time to watch TV or surf the Internet, you have time to do yoga, or any kind of exercise. Try it!