The 3 D’s of Long Term Weight Loss Success

on

It’s now been about 2 months since I officially began calling myself a runner. I’ll admit it feels great and most days, I’m excited to get up and go for a run. However, there have been a few days where I’ve struggled, either because I felt like my pace wasn’t getting faster as quickly as I’d like or because I had a difficult time hitting my distance goals. Whenever that happens, I sit down and talk to my husband about my frustrations. During one of our discussions, we came up with a great mantra for my running journey that we decided actually works perfectly for the weight loss journey as well.

Just like with running, the key to long term weight loss success can be found with these 3 D words: Desire, Discipline, Distance.

Desire

I had the desire to run and that was what got me out the door, pounding my feet on the pavement, every single day during those first few weeks. Similarly, when I began losing weight, I had the desire to reach my goal weight while becoming healthier and more fit. That desire served as the perfect impetus to get me started on the right track. I would remind myself of what I most desired when I was tempted to mindlessly munch on a bag of chips or skip a day at the gym.

What is your weight loss desire? Is it something realistic that you are determined to see through to the end? If so, your already ahead of the game.

Discipline

It takes discipline to get out and run each day. Some days it rains, some days it’s too hot or too cold, and some days I’m just too sore. But in those instances, I rely on my self-discipline to just get out the door and do it, giving myself permission to only go as far as I can without feeling guilty. For the most part, that discipline pays off and I surprise myself by sticking it out until the end.

It’s the same thing with weight loss, only on a much larger scale. Honestly, I don’t know if I’ve ever lived through an experience that required more consistent and steadfast discipline than losing weight. It’s not always easy to stay disciplined, but boy are the results worth it!

Distance

My ultimate running goal is to run a 5K, then a 10K, then a half marathon, and someday, complete a full marathon. That’s a lot of distance to cover! Fortunately, my desire to do it and my discipline to train each day regardless of circumstance will get me there.

Likewise, losing weight and maintaining long term weight loss is a marathon, not a sprint. You have to be willing to go the distance and stay in the race for the long haul. And then, just because you crossed that first finish line doesn’t mean you can stop working. So far, I’ve lost 42 of the original 45 pounds I’d hoped to lose. Instead of feeling like the end is in sight, I’ve chosen to focus on the daily work of maintaining healthy habits and getting toned and fit because I’m in this journey for the long haul and I’m ready to go the distance.

I encourage you to think about those 3 D’s—desire, discipline, distance—and apply them to your own personal weight loss journey. If you’re like me, it might be an eye-opening and encouraging experience.

Go after what you desire with fierce discipline and you’ll go the distance down that road to lasting success!

One Comment

  1. ellenresnick says:

    Way to go Kate! Staying in touch with your deeply held values (improved health, fitness and confidence) will help you stay the course for life. Enjoy your success!! Ellen

Comments are closed.