you're reading...
Success Stories

January 2011 – January 2012 BMI $1000 Challenge Winners

We’d like to heartily congratulate the following four winners. These four won $1000 in our BMI Challenge for going from an obese BMI to a healthy BMI within one year, from January, 2011 through January, 2012.

CONGRATULATIONS TO…

After a bad breakup, when I was 100 pounds heavier than I am now, I realized I wanted thing to change, and slowly but surely, I began to take off the weight. At first, the weight came off really, really easy. But then, 40 pounds or so in, I floundered. It got more difficult, and it was hard to stay motivated. Luckily, that was when I found out about healthywage, which gave me the push I needed through every stage–to get going at that first hump, to stay motivated through the many, many pounds, and to give me the final push to get the last 10 pounds off! So, there it is. I recently ran a half marathon and am training now for a full marathon. I feel great, and am so happy with my health and how it has just made life better–emotionally, mentally, and, of course, physically!

I heard about healthywage from my wife, who read about it in a fitness magazine.  I signed up because I had been heavier than I had been in years and wanted to return to a healthy weight and feel better.  Putting up my own money DEFINITELY helped me win.  I don’t think I would have worked as hard to win if the prize was only going to be $100 and if there was no risk of me losing any of my own money.  I would definitely recommend your program to others, and I already have numerous times!!  I would be interested in a financial incentive program around weight maintenance– this would be very effective for me to keep the weight off.  It has always slowly come back on in the past.  I think maybe a similar program where I could pay money up front, have to sign in once a week to enter my weight, then have a weigh in at 6 mos (I think shorter intervals would be better for weight maintenance) for a victory prize.  Then if this could be continued, there would be more incentive and assistance in keeping the weight off.

Thank you for this program!  It has helped me get back to my old lean self again!!  Everybody comments about how skinny I am looking!

I recently completed the Healthywage BMI Challenge.  I was successful at lowering my BMI from over 31 to under 25.  I ended losing 50 lbs over the course of one year!  This was not easy, and I would definitely say being involved in this contest helped me achieve my goal.  I heard about  Healthwage in a Mlive article last January.  I signed up because I was sick and tired of carrying all this extra weight.  The financial incentive of not only winning $1,000, but of also putting up $300 were necessary to keep me going throughout the year.  I would recommend this program to anyone looking to lose significant weight in the upcoming year.  I would definitely be interested in financial incentives for weight loss maintenance.  Thank you for everything Healthywage.

Join them in success by signing up for the BMI Challenge today!

Discussion

9 thoughts on “January 2011 – January 2012 BMI $1000 Challenge Winners

  1. I’m a little skeptical about the authenticity of these winners. For example, Kevin M. looks much younger in his after picture than his before picture. Notice the hair line, the amount of gray, the youthful features. How did he end up with more hair at the end?

    And with Kim R., the woman in the before picture does not appear to be very overweight, and due to the angle, you can’t even tell if it’s the same person as in the after picture!

    This does sound like a great idea, but I wonder if you are being conned by some of your “winners.” Do you have ways to verify their authenticity?

    Posted by Jackie | January 25, 3:42 pm
    • Even before I read the above comment I was looking at the pictures of your “winners” and thinking the same thing.
      #1 Brandy D. looks to be the same person. Except either she added more tats or her arms became so much smaller that the skinny Brandy’s tats now spread further out on her arms.
      #2 Kevin M. Either not only lost weight but gained hair. In his after photo he looks far younger. Hummm now how do we not know that Kevin just sent in a picture of himself from 10 years earlier.
      #3 Amy R. (it is her in the same phone) looks the same before and after. Come-on Amy those are the best you can come up with.
      #4 David K. Same thing before is someone in a hat eating an icecream cone looking not looking at the camera. David K. afterwards full front view.
      *I I certainly trust Healthy wage. But I sure hope you have some other proof other than those photos they really are the same person… and they really did do what they say they did.

      Posted by Skeptical in Cally | January 25, 4:12 pm
    • In the picture of Kevin M. He shaved off his grey beard, grew out his hair,( is how he ended up with more hair,) and combed it to the side. When you lose 50 lbs. it takes 10 years off your looks. It’s obviously the same person. His hair line is the same. Just saying, these people are real.

      Posted by annrose@cheqnet.net | December 27, 9:34 am
  2. Wow, I didn’t realize they would be posting pictures :) But yes, I am Amy R and those were the best pictures I could find! When I signed up there was no mention of needing pictures and thus I didn’t take any. After having gained weight, I HID from cameras for years. So after digging through thousands of pictures these were the only two pictures I could find within the general time frame. The first was actually 3 months into the challenge when I had already lost 10 pounds and the second wasn’t at my low point either so the visible difference between the two is about 15-18 pounds less than my total loss at the end. They don’t rely on these pictures for confirmation. They make you jump through hoops with your doctor’s office to validate things instead :)

    Posted by Amy R | January 25, 5:27 pm
  3. Wow! Seriously people! How about a little congratulations for these people that have worked so hard to choose a healthy lifestyle? I think what you’ve all done is fantastic and I’m hard at work to follow in your footsteps. I’ve signed up for both the 10% and the BMI, but the BMI is the one that scares me the most because I don’t remember being that thin (or should I say healthy?) ever, even in high school more than a dozen years ago! Yikes! These pictures and stories give me inspiration to think maybe I can get there too. Congrats, congrats, CONGRATS!!!! Hopefully people won’t be as pessimistic when it’s my pictures up there! ;) Better go take a forward facing, fatty fat starting pic so people believe me! Ha!

    Posted by Amy | January 26, 8:58 am
  4. It is definitely real. I finished mine this month and just got the money via Paypal on Saturday!

    Posted by mymelody_78 | February 22, 12:03 am
  5. I am down 22 at this point with 34.8 to go. I weighed in at my gym will I have to weigh in at a doctors office for the final weigh in.

    Posted by Kurt | March 9, 5:10 pm
  6. I would like to congratulate the people who have stepped up and put actions behind their dreams of a healthier lifestyle. Yes, some of the photos are questionable, but that’s not the point. The point is, is that they all had the courage to start, finish and post pictures which is not easy for everybody.

    About 4 years ago I lost 105lbs, but due to tragedy and stress I have allowed it to all come back and then some.
    Today was my first time hearing about this and it is my first time on this site. I am more motivated to begin this challenge because of the site itself and those that posted the pictures..so thank you for all who have lost weight and had the courage to show the world.

    Regarding the posts about Kevin M., when you lose weight, one of the benefits is that it often makes you look younger. Kevin M. could have also gotten a different type of hair cut, died his hair or had a hair procedure. Who knows and no one should care that much! Whatever the case, he looks awesome…so Kudos to you Kevin and forget the haters and naysayer! Some people are just jealous and need to grow up and learn to be more positive.

    P.S. For those questioning the authenticity of their progress, the site rules explain how your weight has to be verified. Healthwage.com and active participants state that it is not just going by before and after pictures.

    Posted by ANewMe2Day | April 10, 1:23 pm
  7. I started with the April 20th Challenge. You have to get your starting and ending weight verified by a doctor or gym approved by HealthyWage. No, they don’t take the word of the people just signing up! By the way, I have lost 9 lbs so far! :)

    Posted by Bobbie | May 19, 9:24 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 504 other followers

